Monday, August 27, 2001

Molesey 1 - Horsham 1

James 37'
Dennis 5'

Ryman League Division Two
Walton Road, Molesey
Monday August 27 2001
Attendance: 61

Horsham gained a point at Walton Road against unbeaten Molesey on this bank holiday Monday but it could so easily have been three. They took the lead after just five minutes with a classic set piece goal – something of a rarity for the Hornets. Luke Gedling’s corner was nodded on by Jason Lillis for Marcel Dennis to apply the finishing touch at the far post. Most of the play at this stage was taking place in the Molesey half as Horsham stretched their hosts with some fluent, attacking football. As they dominated, a perfect cross from Martin Lempriere was headed narrowly wide by the alert Stuart Hardv.

Gary Charman then had a shot well held by keeper Lawrence Batty, and skipper Lillis also went close, but the visitors were unable to extend their lead and teenage striker Symon James was proving a handful for Tommy Warrilow and Eddie French at the other end. Tempers became frayed and Lillis was the first of ref Tony Mason’s seven bookings when he fouled the Molesβ€˜ plaver-manager Clive Walker. Moments later there was a melee when Walker left Hardy needing treatment and the former Chelsea and Albion plaver was lucky that the colour of his card was yellow and not red.

The equaliser came in the thirty-seventh minute when James turned and wrong-footed the Horsham defence to fire inside Ian Chatfield’s right-hand post. The visitors continued to have the better of the play after the break and Lillis and Dennis were both close with headers before Charman brought a good save out of Batty. But a winner proved elusive and Chatfield had to be at his best to save at the feet of James and prevent Molesey claiming the points. However, the Hornets almost had the final say when Batty dropped a Steve Flain cross but somehow he managed to recover and block Gedling’s follow-up.



  • Ian Chatfield
  • David O’Dongo
  • Eddie French
  • Tommy Warrilow
  • Martin Lempriere
  • Gary Charman
  • Stuart Hardy
  • Luke Gedling
  • Steve Payne
  • Jason Lillis
  • Marcel Dennis
  • Jamie Taylor
  • Steve Flain